My Mom

When we decided to make the move to Kazakhstan for work, it was a tough. There were a lot of unknowns, a lot of things to manage at home before leaving…just a lot. It was hard for us, but it was also hard for our families.

My Mom, in particular, had a hard time with it. She was afraid for me, worried for me, sad to be so far away from me. It would be a huge change. And while I was frustrated because I wanted to make her ok with it, I understood where she was coming from. Of all the times I’ve made My Mom worry, either from my car accident after high school, moving away for my undergraduate and graduate schooling, traveling all over the world…I’ve felt the guiltiest about this move. For three years, I would be living 11 hours ahead of her and over 9,000 miles away. Instead of eventually moving closer as I had hoped, I would be moving to the furthest spot possible, or nearly. I’d be in a foreign place where I had no contacts, no friends, no family, no job to occupy my time. It didn’t sound good.

Though it was tough at first, we figured it out. Technology helps. It’s easy to stay in touch with WhatsApp, email, etc. She’s very much a part of my life, and hopefully, she feels I’m actively a part of hers. I am grateful to have a mother who loves me despite my choices. I know it’s hard. I feel bad, she feels bad, but she never gives up on me, she never stops caring and supporting me. That’s what a mom does, she sticks with her kids no matter how many times they might break her heart. It’s pretty incredible to be loved like that and it’s not something I take it for granted.

My Mom is a strong woman, resilient. She is honest. She is incredibly generous and goes out of her way to make sure everyone in her life feels loved and cared for—even if she doesn’t think she’s doing that. She has an eye and memory for details; I can say I like something in passing and it’ll appear as an amazing Christmas gift. She is surprising; she’ll often give something a try that I never imagined her doing. I like that. She is creative and resourceful—great at repurposing and giving new life to old and ugly things. She is thoughtful. She always makes sure the fridge has food my husband and I like when we come to visit and that we have time to do everything we want to do. She really is amazing. A lot of people freak out over those jokes or comments about “turning into her mother,” but My Mom has a lot of amazing qualities that I would be proud to have!

I’m sorry I almost never get to spend Mother’s Day with you, Mom, but even 9,000 miles away, you are still My Mom and I think about you every day! Thank you for never giving up on me and my crazy adventures! I love you now and always!

One thought on “My Mom

Leave a Reply

